Movie Review: The Tourist

30 Apr

Starring: Angelina Jolie and Johnny Depp

Year: 2010

Trailer

When this movie first came out in the theaters I was super excited mainly because both Angelina and Johnny are my favorites actors. ( I have this weird thing  that with actors I love… i refer to them by first name only) But after I heard the reviews I was deterred from spending movie theater dollars watching them….but I still feel guilty about it because I love my Johnny. That being said the reviewers were right.

The Tourist features Angelina Jolie as an ultra sophisticated woman named Elise, Elise who looks divine in all her glitz and glamour is followed closely by the Scotland Yard who wants to catch her old boyfriend Alexander Pierce for tax evasion. suddenly she gets a note from Alexander which tells her to meet him in the Italian city of Venice and to “find a man who looks like me” this imposter will be used to distract the Scotland Yard while Elise and Alexander rendezvous. I think one of the reasons why this movie fell flat was because of the lack of substance when it came to the plot, the plot was overly simplified and lacked depth and perception. Another major mistake the movie made was the utter lack of character development and back-story. When the movie starts you almost feel like your coming into the movie in the middle and you get this feeling like you missed some important piece of the story.

As Elise boards the train to Venice she searches for an imposter that supposedly looks like the mysterious Alexander….the impostor turns out to be Johnny Depp who in the film is named Frank. Frank and Elise trade was supposed to be witty flirtations but they weren’t, because Johnny and Angelina have absolutely no chemistry. The chemistry between Angelina and Johnny feels more like a friendship rather than a romantic relationship which is why the movie was so unsuccessful.

When Elise and Frank arrive in Venice they pose as husband and wife and while they dont sleep together, the kiss that Elise plants on Frank sets both Scotland Yard an the Russian Mafia in a frenzy and they become convinced that Frank is Alexander and so proceed to capture him. Frank wakes up to find Elise gone and the Russian Mafia breaking in, Frank tries to escape but is captured by the police who are working with the Russians. Elise arrives and rescues Frank and she apologizes for getting Frank involved in her drama and drops him off at the airport after trying to prevent him from getting further drawn in to the whole “Alexander” mix-up. Elise attends a ball where she is supposed to meet Alexander but instead runs into Frank, who tells her he loves her and asks her to escape with him. Elise doesnt want Frank to get hurt, so she tells him to go away and not to follow her. Then Elise disappears following a man she thinks is Alexander out of the ball….only to be kidnapped by the Russian gangster. At this point the plot becomes so super predictable that you could probably guess the ending on your own and I will let you do that because I dont believe in spoiling endings even if they are predictable.

I hate being let down by movies that have all the potential to be good but then aren’t. Both Angelina and Johnny are great actors so why is the movie bad? I’m going to blame it on the Director Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck, who also wrote the movie. Granted this is Donnersmarck first American film but its obvious that he focused more on the costumes and cinematography than the actual plot and characters of the film leaving the film very dry and boring.

Bluej Rating: C

12 Responses to “Movie Review: The Tourist”

  1. JL May 8, 2011 at 6:55 am #

    Well there’s one thing I have to commend you on: actually mustering up the courage to watch this. I always knew this was going to be garbage from what I saw. I love Depp and even enjoy Jolie, but everything I saw looked like crap. The only part I liked about any of the trailers was the whole “but when you upgrade it from room service…pretty serious” line which was just Depp being funny.

    • Bluej May 10, 2011 at 1:44 am #

      yeah to be honest I think thats what was lacking in the movie…they made Johnny a little more serious than funny…so the movie came across very dry. If they had let Depp be is normal witty self the movie would have been alot better.

  2. Chelsea May 6, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    Yeah, I agree. I had such high expectations for this movie… Ange+Johnny, hello!! But once again, a lazy movie that tried to ride off on its big stars. Doesn’t always work…

    I have to say I do enjoy watching it whenever its on tv or so. Beautiful actors, scenery and music. Sometimes a movie can be enjoyable for other reasons than its plot.

    • Bluej May 6, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

      yeah the only reason this movie was semi-enjoyable becasue of johnny and angelina and beautiful scenery.

  3. Castor May 2, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    The Golden Globes nominating this for Best Picture – Comedy was the joke of the year.

    • Bluej May 2, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

      yeah i really dont know why it was nominated…it was totally not worthy.

  4. Sajib May 2, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    Thank you for saving my time (not dollar ;) ).

  5. scarletsp1der May 1, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    Bravo on avoiding the theater for this one! I actually went….fell asleep…left, and then returned later to watch it again in order to complete my review. I should’ve just left it alone! At least Venice was pretty. :) it’s part of the reason I like The Italian Job!

    • Ronan May 1, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

      Now that is what I call dedication. I think if I fell asleep during a film the review would kind of write itself. Something along the lines of: ‘The Tourist, worth seeing but not worth going to see’ (not sure if that makes any sense). Having said that I did fall asleep during LOTR: The Two Towers and I love that, so maybe it’s best to just avoid the cinema if you’re sleepy?

      • scarletsp1der May 2, 2011 at 7:19 am #

        haha! yeah, I had to finish it! ;)

    • Bluej May 2, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

      Yes Venice was so beautiful! Im not really impressed with Italy as a vacation spot because its seems wayyy too touristy…but the movie really made it seem really cool so maybe someday in the future ill get a chance to visit…and be a “Tourist” ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

