The 90′s Spotlight: 1996

10 May

So continuing with my 90′s theme for the month of May this week I chose 1996 as my spotlight year. To add a little background, 1996 was the year that the summer Olympics were hosted in Atlanta, that Bill Clinton was elected for a second term, the Spice Girls were #1 on the charts, the Macerena was famous and the cost of  gas was $1.22 ( good times). When it comes to movies my top 4 films of 1996 were:

1. Matilda

I was a fan of Ronald Dahl’s books and have read most of them as a child so when they adapted the Matilda book into a movie, i was really happy that movie lived up to the book. My favorite scene is the scene where she makes everything fly around her living room as you can see…even as an adult I still really enjoy this movie.

2. Scream

This was one of the first “scary” movies I ever watched and even then…I had to watch it at a friends house ( my parents were kinda strict when it came to tv/movies). I’m not really a big fan of horror movies ( so you wont see alot of them on my blog) what I liked about the Scream franchise is that it was the perfect blend of horror/suspense and comedy. Scream is not the kind of movie that will leave you scared to take a shower or be home alone its definitely one of those cheesy teen flicks but i love teen movies and the Scream movies definitely delivered.

3.  Evita

I’m a BIG fan of musicals and of historical films so I loved this movie in 1996 and still love it today. I remember my friend telling me back then ” dont see Evita, its literally singing throughout the whole film” ( hahah ). I will admit that I do prefer my musicals to have actual dialogue between songs but for Evita I will make an exception because the singing is excellent, but I guess you have to enjoy Madonna’s voice to really appreciate it, which I do.  Aside from the singing the story is captivating and the way the movie is delivered is brilliant. The movie is long but its not boring and if you can get past the singing and the fact that its Madonna you will enjoy it.

4. Independence Day

One of my other favorite things about movies is Will Smith…I love him, his movies, his tv show, his acting and all the swagger he brings to a movie….after Men In Black, Independence Day is my favorite Will Smith movie. I liked Independence Day because i love alien movies, disaster movies and cheesy but funny one-liners and Independence Day had all three. With any other actor Independence Day would have been a complete waste of time but Will Smith made this movie and this movie also made famous what is now called the “summer blockbuster” so yay for Will Smith and yay for Independence Day.

What were your favorite movies of 1996, that you still enjoy today?

13 Responses to “The 90′s Spotlight: 1996”

  1. Paul S May 15, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    I loved The Rock and Twister and Courage Under Fire was magnificent but my favourite of 96 was One Fine Day, Clooney and Pfeiffer were fantastic in that!

    • Bluej May 16, 2011 at 3:26 am #

      I loved One Fine Day!

  2. JL May 14, 2011 at 7:31 am #

    Scream and ID4 I like, the other two I’ll definitely pass on. For me, the top movie of 1996 has to be Sling Blade. Just a great film. The Rock, Broken Arrow and Twister I enjoyed as popcorn flicks. Jerry Maguire is always a good one. I really liked Happy Gilmore and The Nutty Professor too. Especially back then.

    Oooh, and The Cable Guy. And Tin Cup. Michael and Phenomenon are both real good movies. Oh, and Primal Fear has one of the best debuts from an actor in Edward Norton. Great performance.

    • Bluej May 16, 2011 at 3:25 am #

      yeah i really enjoyed jerry maguire too I also love how you have listed every single guy-centric movie in 1996 as your favorite lol

      • JL May 24, 2011 at 3:38 am #

        lol Well I am a guy, afterall. Not to mention, in 1996 I was 15yo so those types of movies really appealed to a teenage guy.

  3. Richard May 13, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    Fargo, hands down, no competition. Well, that and Beavis and Butthead Do America. :-)

    • JL May 14, 2011 at 7:32 am #

      I couldn’t ever get past all the damn “eh”s to enjoy that movie lol

  4. scarletsp1der May 12, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    fun list! Ok here goes mine! 1996: Hamlet, Independence Day, Jingle All The Way, Mission Impossible, The Rock, and Twister!!!!

    • Bluej May 12, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

      hahaha @ Jingle All the Way lol

  5. Kay aka Babygirl May 11, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    I never liked the movie “Scream”. I have no idea why, I just refused to watch it and I was a teenager back then lol. I think I was jaded because the old “Jason” movies were no longer scary so this would be a waste. I loved “Independence Day” though.

    • Bluej May 12, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

      I never watched any “scary” slasher flicks befor watching scream i think thats why I was able to enjoy it

  6. le0pard13 May 10, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    My daughter loves MATILDA and ID4 is one of the best ‘B’ sci-fi movies, ever. SCREAM is a great. Recently, my friend Bryce did an exemplary scene breakdown of what makes its opening so iconic in horror. Thanks, Bluej.

    • Bluej May 12, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

      thats a great site you linked me to thanks! ( and matilda is awesome )

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

