The 90′s Spotlight: 1997

17 May

Continuing with my 90′s theme…this week im listing my favorite movies from 1997. To add a little perspective 1997 was also the year that Princess Diana was killed, that Notorious BIG  was killed, that the first Harry Potter book was published, and that the average price of a movie ticket was $4.59  (boy do I miss those days).

My top 4 favorite films were:

1. Men In Black

This is probably one of my favorite movies of all time and a classic “will smith” movie who I love love love as an actor…and human being lol.  This movie is great for two reasons, original plot , will smith, and witty one-liners…ok thats three but whose counting. I remember seeing this in 1997 and loving it and watching it two months ago and still laughing at the same jokes. for a combination of comedy and sci-fi it cant get more classic than this… at least in my books.

2. Selena

As you know I love movies that have great music/musicals and this movie is no exception the story was well told, the music was awesome, especially since they didnt let Jennifer Lopez do the singing but had Selena’s actual vocals and you definitely couldnt tell it was dubbed so kudos to J.lo for great lip-syncing. I definitely enjoy Lopez as an actress (except not in that horrible movie that came out last year) and I think this is her most winning performance.

3. My Best Friends Wedding

I love Julia Roberts and I love Cameron Diaz and there freaking hilarious in this movie so its a no brainier that I would love this movie. When I think of romantic comedies, this is what I think of, not those horrible movies like, Bride Wars or 27 Dresses…MBFW is doesn’t try to hard to be funny or “cute” it just is and thats why its my favorite of the romantic comedy genre and of 1997.

4. Titanic

I know its almost cliche to pick Titanic has my favorite of 1997 because soo many enjoyed Titanic …but I still think it was great movie…great story, great characters, great costumes, good performances good blockbuster fun that sucks you in and before you know it….its 3 hours later.

Honorable Mention:

Gattaca

Face/Off

Scream 2

Devil’s Own

The Fifth Element

what were your favorite films of 1997 ?

10 Responses to “The 90′s Spotlight: 1997”

  1. Ipodman May 24, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    My favourite movie of 1997 is definitely The Lost World Jurassic Park :) I think 1997 was the year that the Star Wars Original Trilogy was re-released into theaters…

    • Bluej May 24, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

      Yea I enjoyed The lost world: Jurassic park too…even though it was super cheesy lol.

  2. JL May 24, 2011 at 3:49 am #

    I guess I’m actually one of the ones that rather hated Titanic.

    Men in Black is a great choice, though. I love how your others were just “chick flicks” :P lol I also like The Fifth Element getting an honorable mention. Face/Off and Scream 2 are a couple other good mentions.

    I think my favorite from that year has to be Good Will Hunting. LA Confidential, Grosse Point Blank, Chasing Amy, The Rainmaker, The Devil’s Advocate and As Good As It Gets are some other real goods.

    I also enjoyed Liar Liar, Con Air, Air Force One, Cube, Austin Powers, Donnie Brasco, Contact, Suicide Kings, Conspiracy Theory and Nothing to Lose were some others I enjoyed as well.

    • Bluej May 24, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

      you should embrace some chick flicks…cause their not all bad and becasue you will see them often on this blog ;) I liked Conspiracy Theory and Liar Liar too although alot of the more serious 90′s movies i didnt watch till much later.

  3. scarletsp1der May 24, 2011 at 3:14 am #

    Ah hooray! The Fifth Element made it to the Honorable Mention category!!

    Did you see the post over at Anomalous Material about Titanic being re-launched in theaters? http://www.anomalousmaterial.com/movies/2011/05/titanic-to-set-sail-again/

    Another fun list. I remember watching Selena in Spanish class in highschool

    • Bluej May 24, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

      I love Fifth Element great 90′s movie! and thanks for the link!

  4. Kay aka Babygirl May 23, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    You choose some really good movies. 1997 was such a busy year and I was still a teenager.. go figure lol. Men in black was classic, and I loved My Best Friends wedding. And did you say a movie ticket was $4.95? I just don’t understand why that can’t be applied to today lol.

    • Bluej May 24, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

      I know! movie prices today are ridiculous…now I only see movies that get very good reviews cause i hate wasting money on a stupid movie.

  5. Chelsea May 19, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    Haha, how do you think a cliché becomes a cliché? Titanic is a classic and that will probably never change. I really loved Selena and Jennifer did a great job. I don’t love MIB nor MBFW. Mainly because I don’t like Sci-fi or Julia ROberts. Nice choices though

    • Bluej May 22, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

      thanks for visiting! yes titantic is definitely a classic!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

