The 90′s Spotlight: 1998

24 May

So for the last week of May and ending my spotlight on 90′s movies the last year I want to spotlight is 1998.

1998 was a great year for alot of things, it was a great year in Hip Hop/R&B/Rap music (Doo Wop, Are you That somebody, All My Life, Going back to cali) a hilarious year in politics with Bill Clinton declaring ” I did not have sexual relations with that woman” (when of course everybody knew he did) Also a good year in technology… the mp3 and Google search engine was invented in 1998.

My favorite movies of 1998 are:

1. Mulan

In 1998 I was a teenager so i was pretty much done with Disney movies but when I saw Mulan I was finally relieved that Disney had made a movie that broke the mold of Disney princesses. This is definitely my favorite Disney movie because not only did it showcase a strong female but also had a strong plot and great songs that weren’t lyrically cheesy. One thing Disney is infamous for is its lack of ethnic diversity when it comes to its girl-roles and so it was great to see the story of Mulan.

2. Pleastenville

Most people probably haven’t seen this movie or heard of it, but its a shame cause this was such a great movie with excellent actor performances. What I liked about this movie aside from the acting was the theme of conformity and how sometimes  following a specific set of societal norms can be retarded. The movie’s main premise is a comparative look at 1950′s America and 1990′s America and asks the question which one is better? The use of color and cinematography further helps with the narrative and philosophical question in this movie…making this movie ( in my opinion) brilliant and one of the best 90′s movies ever.

3. Ever After

I will be the first to admit this is totally a chick flick (even though I hate that term and use is sparingly on this blog) but that dosent mean its bad. If you accept that this is a chick flick, then you can accept that is probably one of the best chick flicks ever.  Drew Barrymore really makes this movie what it is becasue she doesn’t come off as super girly or pretentious, just a hard working woman who falls in love with a prince…I love when opposites attract and this movie is definitely showcases that.

4. The Man in the Iron Mask

So if you follow this blog then you already know that I love this movie, because I have already reviewed it here. The summary of my thoughts its that Leonardo DiCaprio is brilliant in this film and really brings the movie alive. It also helps that the plot is fantastic and the acting of John Malkcovich and the other Musketeers are also note-worthy.

Honerable Mention:

Elizabeth

The Truman Show

Meet Joe Black

The Mask of Zorro

Deep Impact

What were your favorite Films of 1998?

10 Responses to “The 90′s Spotlight: 1998”

  1. rtm May 31, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    YAY for Man in the Iron Mask! I LOVE that movie, not for Leo (though he’s pretty good here) but I fell for Gabriel Byrne’s D’Artagnan… he’s stole the show IMO. I like the music in it as well.

    Ever After is more of a guilty pleasure for me (HELLO Prince Henry :D) but Drew’s atrocious British accent is so darn distracting.

    • Bluej June 2, 2011 at 5:01 am #

      Yes Gabriel Bryine definitely was a scene stealer…I havent seen much of his work but I definitely loved him in the Iron Mask and yes prince henry is pretty dreamy lol

      • rtm June 2, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

        Apparently I have a weakness for dreamy men :D

  2. scarletsp1der May 26, 2011 at 3:01 am #

    “Let’s Get Down To Business…to defeat…the Huns!!!” :) Mulan!!

    Interesting that you choose Deep Impact over Armageddon. Bravo to you!

    Saving Private Ryan often brings tears to my eyes. I also liked A Bug’s Life, Enemy of the State, Blade, Rush Hour, U.S. Marshals, and The Negotiator.

    Man! ’98 was a good year! Thanks for the walk down this memory lane!!

    • Bluej May 27, 2011 at 4:35 am #

      ooh i totally forgot about enemy of the state, I loved that movie! and yeah i wasnt that impressed with Armageddon.

    • Ronan May 31, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

      Mulan rocks, it is such an understated Disney film. Great story as well. Wasn’t it based on a real person? I saw The Man in the Iron mask on a boat to France one year, not sure if it was that or the sea which made me sick :-)

      • Bluej June 2, 2011 at 4:58 am #

        yeah mulan was based on a real person and I remember reading somewhere that Hollywood is going to make a live-action version of Mulan so that will be interesting

  3. Castor May 25, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    Oh nice to see someone remembers Pleasantville! Loved that movie, quite an underrated gem imo.

    • Bluej May 27, 2011 at 4:36 am #

      it was such a great movie and youre right totally underrated.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s “Time to Vote Tuesday!” 51 « Scarletsp1der's Blog - May 31, 2011

    [...] at The Yellow Brick Road last week, BlueJ spolighted her favorite movies of 1998, one of which was Deep Impact. It made me [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

