Movie Review: X-Men: First Class

5 Jun

 

Starring: James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender,Jennifer Lawrence, Kevin Bacon

Year: 2011

Trailer

I saw this movie last night and let me tell you after the first X-men movie (which came out in 2000)  this is the next best thing. I have no complaints about this movie whatsoever but I should warn you X-Men: First Class is not like  any of the previous X-Men movies. This movie completely focuses on character development (yay!) and while it does have some action, I would say the action is secondary to the actual plot and character development. The movie  focuses on the early lives of Magneto, Professor Xavier, and Mystique. which is nice becasue the early part of their lives are only covered for like 2 minutes or not at all, in the other previous X-men movies. So adding the background on these characters really gives depth to all the other x-men movies.

Another great thing about this movie is that it ties together all the other X-Men movies, like for the example X-Men: First Class opens with the scene of Magneto in the concentration camp which we saw in the very first X-Men movie. In the current movie instead of fast-forwarding to the future the movie continues with the story of Magneto in the concentration camp and how he developed his powers and the emotional influences that affected him throughout the rest of his life. The movie does a really good job at giving the character of Magneto a back-story not just with his powers but also with his emotional journey and how their tied together. Then in the same time period the movie switches to Professor Xavier as a boy, who lives in the big house that is the school in all the other X-Men movies and shows how he meets Mystique, who is also just a child at that time too.

Mystique and Xavier become friends or rather more like brother and sister and its nice to see how their not enemies at first. The movie takes it time showing the aging of each character and the personal development they go through, and that was one of things I really appreciated about this movie. The movie was not rushed whatsoever but it didnt drag along either, every thing was given its time and place and you could definitely get a sense of a natural progression. For example they showed Xavier as a child, then they showed Xavier as any regular college student…except that he is really smart but goes to parties/gets drunk like most college students and then they show him quickly adapting to the changing political climate and gaining a sense of responsibility towards fellow mutants.

The early version of Mystique is very interesting as well, they show her as a child who has to result into breaking into people’s homes to eat and survive and how Xavier takes her in. Then they show her as a young adult ( or teenager I cant be sure) and her struggle with her physical appearance and the desire to be accepted by human and mutants alike. What I liked about the Mystique story is how the movie explained her devotion to Magento and where that came from, I know in the other X-Men movies I never really got why she was so loyal to Magento and this movie explained that really well.

With each of  the three main characters the movie used the 60′s as the backdrop and specifically the Cuban Missile Crisis which I thought was brilliant. I think doing it this way gave the movie added depth and range and didnt just make the movie about mutants battling mutants ( which their definitely was some of that) but more about how mutant issues were intertwined with history so I thought that was a great way for the movie to add extra importance to the storyline. Even with all the greatness of movie my favorite part of the movie was the 30 seconds with wolverine when Xavier and Magneto tried to recruit him and he told them “go fuck yourself”  the whole theater laughed for like a minute haha. I really have nothing but praise for this movie I thought it was well made, great acting, great plot, excellent character development and loved how it tied everything together, hopefully they make a sequel ( but only if they have the same directors/writers/producers/actors).

 

Did you like the movie? What was your favorite part?

 

Bluej Rating; A

 

 

 

15 Responses to “Movie Review: X-Men: First Class”

  1. Lesya June 21, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    Excellent write up on the characters! I also loved Jackman’s cameo, but you should have put a spoiler tag in the review lol. So glad you gave it an A!

    By the way, are ou in the LAMB (Large Association of Movie Blogs)?

    • Bluej June 22, 2011 at 4:42 am #

      thanks for your comment! I’ve heard of LAMB…but i dont really know what its about.

  2. scarletsp1der June 19, 2011 at 1:07 am #

    I am interested in hearing your thoughts on Super 8 if you get a chance, because I know, like me, being born in the 80s, that you might really enjoy the look, feel, nostalgia, and adventure of the film.

    Have you got to see it yet??

    • Bluej June 19, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

      I havent seen super 8 yet but maybe Ill check it out…I feel jipped by green lantern reviews so maybe ill see super 8 instead.

  3. Irina June 8, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    I thought the movie was fantastic!! soooo funny!
    Wasn’t expecting much from it at first, but it turned out to be one of the best movies I’ve seen this year!
    The ending was somewhat rushed as it didnt make sense why Mystique would leave Professor so easily after so many years together (plus seeing him hurt). Still a lovely movie overall.

  4. rtm June 7, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    I love this one too, Bluej. It’s right up there w/ the first 2 X-Men movies. My favorite part has got to be the ending (especially involving Magneto & Xavier)… it really makes up for some of the quibbles I have about some parts in the middle of the movie.

    • scarletsp1der June 8, 2011 at 1:16 am #

      You didn’t think the ending somewhat rushed the events involving Magneto & Xavier? I’d have to say that it was to an extent. Still a great movie overall, but I’m not sure I could say the ending was my favorite part.

  5. Paula June 6, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    as you know i liked this movie a lot, my favorite part was when they went out and found the other mutants in all manner of places :)

    • Bluej June 7, 2011 at 4:59 am #

      yeah that was definitely a cool scene. thanks for your comment!

  6. Kay aka Babygirl June 6, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    I loved your review! And I totally agree with you, Mystique’s story cleared up a lot for me. I never could understand why she was so loyal to Magneto. But I think she wanted to be loved. I believe she was somewhat in love with Xavier and when it wasn’t returned, she went to Magneto and he understood and accepted her. The while film team did a great job with this movie. I hope they have more stories to this series. Great review :)

    • Bluej June 7, 2011 at 4:59 am #

      great anaylsis! Your right i think mystique definitely might of had some sort of feelings for xavier.

  7. scarletsp1der June 6, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    This movie was great. You’re right. the character development was first and foremost! and it’s great that that is the case. I just ended up wishing for more of the development with the secondary characters! Nice review!! appropriate score!

    • Bluej June 7, 2011 at 4:57 am #

      yeah i agree i think a little more content for the secondary characters would have been nice….but Im not complaining too much maybe if they do a sequel they will cover the secondary characters more.

  8. Ipodman June 6, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    Nice review! I love this movie too!

    I like that it’s somehow still in sync with the previous movies, so it’s not a TOTAL reboot… :)

    • Bluej June 7, 2011 at 4:56 am #

      yea i agree i hate when movies that are supposed to be in a series have no references to each other.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

