Movie Review: I Am Number Four

17 Jun

 

Starring: Alex Pettyfer, Timothy Olyphant, Teresa Palmer, Diana Aragon

Year: 2011

Trailer

So being a fan of alien movies and movies about people with powers, I was really excited to watch this movie (but not excited enough to spend movie theater dollars on it ) and while it definitely wasn’t boring, in my opinion it could have been better. I Am Number Four is about a group of aliens who escaped their planet when it was being destroyed and are now hiding out on Earth, hiding from the evil Aliens that destroyed their home planet and who have come to earth hoping to kill off the last of their kind. As you can see the plot is very simple and unoriginal. I happen to love sci-fi movies and I think that when somebody watches an alien movie they want to see back-story and creative plot premise…this movie was very shallow in both.

The movie is focused mainly on one alien high school, boy aptly named “John Smith”  who keeps his real identity a secret in order blend in. Apparently all the ‘good’ aliens have a guardian that helps keep them safe from the ‘bad’ aliens but John Smith dosent want to play by the rules he wants to be a “normal” boy and go to high school  ( like that is normal?! who wants to go to high school?! ). When John accidentally reveals that he is indeed an alien, his guardian Henri packs up his stuff and tells John they have to skip town before the ‘bad’ aliens find them. John reluctantly leaves with Henri but carries a big grudge that he had to leave his friends behind and that he never has a real home. Henri pretty much tells him to suck it up and that being an alien is a gift and not a curse and that he needs to quit complaining and being ungrateful.

At their new location John decides to disobey Henri and enroll in high school Henri is furious but allows John to go, giving him a warning that he better not do anything ‘alien-like’ and blend in. John being a blond haired, tan guy automatically dosent fit in ( which is one flaw of the movie because its totally unrealistic, that a good-looking blonde guy wouldn’t fit in at a creamy vanilla high school ).  Ok so John is having some trouble making friends but he isnt the only one….like in all Hollywood portrayed high schools  their is always one boy or girl that nobody likes and gets trashed everyday. In this movie that boy’s name is Sam. John feels bad for Sam (who is picked on mainly becasue he believes aliens are real and abducted his father) and since John dosent have any friends and is pissed at Henri he uses some impressive  display of alien strength by protecting Sam from the bullies. In the process he catches the eye of a pretty high school girl named Sarah ( I love how unoriginal the names of all the characters are too lol). John is instantly intrigued and proceeds to make Sarah his new girlfriend. Which pisses of f Henri further and warns John that he  shouldn’t get too involved with the locals for fear of being discovered.

 

John of course ignores his guardian and proceeds to fall in love with Sarah and befriend Sam, then all of the sudden John goes through alien puberty right in the middle of class and his hands start glowing, John freaks out ( and rightly so) and Henri comes and saves the day. Henri tells John that his kind are blessed with unique gifts that are supposed to be used to kill the ‘bad’ aliens and protect earth/people/’good’ aliens/the universe etc… John of course is excited by this news and proceeds to test his new powers in the woods with no one watching. Sarah of course loves the fact that John has no friends and spends all his time with her, invites him to a carnival they hang out together and this pisses off Sarah’s ex-boyfriend Mark.  Mark then proceeds to get a group of his friends together to harass Sarah and John but they dont know that John is an alien and can pretty much take care of himself. so when Mark and his buddies decide to jump John and drag Sarah off into the woods, John goes all cyclops/magneto/beast on them and pretty much puts them all in the hospital his crazy behavior scares Sarah but then she forgives him…but its too late becasue John’s crazy behavior has attracted some unwanted attention and the ‘bad’ aliens find him and create alot of ruckus….but I wont ruin the ending for you.

The movie as a whole had alot of unused potential, it was entertaining but wasnt anything special. Everything from the acting to the plot to special effects was mediocre a good afternoon movie but not something you stay home to watch.

 

Bluej Rating: C

 

10 Responses to “Movie Review: I Am Number Four”

  1. scarletsp1der June 21, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    I wanted to see this when I first saw the trailer and mid-movie I was frustrated with the movie! What a disappointment. Kevin Durand, however, was good an creepy as the Mogadorian Commander and I expect to see more from Dianna Agron. But I agree with you- “The movie as a whole had alot of unused potential, it was entertaining but wasnt anything special.”

    check out my review if you get a chance. Here’s the link to all the reviews http://wp.me/PWaTa-7v (it’s #77)

    • Bluej June 22, 2011 at 4:43 am #

      i love how you call your reviews the “web” how very spidey of you! :)

      • scarletsp1der June 23, 2011 at 6:06 am #

        :) thanks for catching that!!

  2. rtm June 21, 2011 at 3:39 am #

    I cringe every time I saw the trailer for this, I don’t think I can get through the entire movie. But then again I don’t think I’m the targeted demographic :)

    • Bluej June 22, 2011 at 4:41 am #

      hahaha yeah it kind of bothers me how hollywood makes crap movies just for a targeted demographic…its like hello what about the rest of us?!!

  3. fictionworms June 18, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    I was planning to watch this movie just because of Alex Pettyfer (it’s not precisely because of the way he acts, but God, the guy’s so beautiful xD). Anyway, now I will think it better, or at least I won’t let my expectations raise too high… did you know that the movie is based on a book? My blog partner read it :)

    I also wanted to suggest you just one thing, if that’s OK. I think that in your reviews you tend to tell too much about the plot, which spoils some things for those who haven’t seen the movie, and may be kind of boring for those who have. I think it would be better if you gave more importance to your opinion, instead of just describing the movie. Please, don’t get offended, because that’s the least I want. It’s just a suggestion, but be aware that I really enjoy reading what you have to say ;)

    Xoxo! -Guadi.

    • Bluej June 19, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

      its based on a book? is the book good? I always fee like the books are better than the movie and thanks for the advice I’ll definitely consider putting more my opinion and less plot details next time I do a review! thanks for visiting!

      • fictionworms June 23, 2011 at 1:28 am #

        I haven’t read it, but my friend did and liked it (far much more than the movie, she told me). Xoxo! :)

  4. Ipodman June 17, 2011 at 2:42 am #

    This is probably the worst movie I’ve seen this year, but now I’m thinking whether I was too harsh on it. The villains are definitely a big problem, they were so cartoonish and dull. And then there’s the whole convoluted storyline where the villains have to kill these teens in numerical order. So later on in the movie when Number Six shows up, she’s INVINCIBLE since the bad guys are still at Number Four.

    • Bluej June 18, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

      Yeah i agree about the villians…the movie could have done better with them i think the whole alien story was just lacking and I think the whole numerical order thing could have been explained better.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

