Movies so bad I couldnt even Finish

22 Jun

Vanishing on 7th Street (2010)

So everything Ive head about this movie was just bad bad bad….but you know sometimes you just have to see for yourself And usually with sci-fi/fantasy movies no matter how bad the reviews I still have to see it for myself. Even though I had really low expectations about the plot and knew the acting was gonna suck at the very basic level i was expecting some sort of explanation for why the characters were running from shadows….especially when they mentioned that it the sun dosent come up for as long anymore but the darkness was never explained and i just couldn’t finish a movie that was going nowhere and had from what ( wiki says) a super dumb ending. It was also this movie that made me institute the 30 minute rule…meaning that if a movie couldn’t interest me in 30 minutes then its not worth my time haha.

Red Riding Hood (2011)

It was clearly obvious after watching the trailer that Red Riding Hood was geared toward the girly teenyboppers who are either team Edward or team Jacob….but as I said before, I definitely have a teenybopper side to me and I’m team Jacob….. so I thought there might be a possibility that I would enjoy the “hood” but I was wrong. The movie is a re-telling of the classic tale ” little Red Riding Hood” definitely has an interesting premise and could have been done really well but the producers/directors/writers decided rather to focus on making the movie look physically appealing through the use of cinematography and pretty actors rather than focusing on fleshing out a plot that would keep an audience intrigued and let the acting slide too so the movie just ended but being super boring and flat and pretty much annoyed you by my 30 minute mark and that has alot to do with Amanda Seyfried who In my opinion is a horrible actress and it really showed in this movie which is why after 30 minutes I got bored and trashed it.

Gigi (1958)

So for an upcoming spotlight on musicals I decided to check out Gigi and when I rented it from Netflix and it sat around my house for about a month. I think subconsciously I knew the movie was gonna be wack….and when I finally sat down to watch it I was right ,the movie was super corny ( and not in a good way) and really silly.  The movie’s plot is not based on anything substantial but instead celebrates extravagance and pomp its bows its head to Parisian high society in the 1900′s and all the retardedness that went along with that. The songs were dumb and I fast-forwarded through all of them and their was no dancing! the costumes didnt impress me, and the plot was dumb and boring. The characters themselves were just really uninteresting people who I would never want to know in real life much less spend 3 hours watching them. For all these reasons after an hour and half I coughed this movie up to a musical fail.

Bluej Rating: D ( for all the movies)

18 Responses to “Movies so bad I couldnt even Finish”

  1. rtm June 24, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    Great idea for a post, Bluej! Fortunately I haven’t encountered many movies that I wanted to turn off… wait, I think we turned off The Good German after about 15 minutes as it was so darn boring. I might re-rent it again because of Cate Blanchett though. Oooh I’ve been curious about Gigi because I adore My Fair Lady… that’s too bad it sounds so dull.

    • Bluej June 25, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

      Yeah sorry for ruining Gigi for you but it really was soo boring…its nothing like My Fair Lady and thanks for visiting!

  2. Lesya June 24, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    It’s a terrific idea for the post. I haven’t seen and even haven’t tries to see any of the movies you have written about, but I’m surprised to see Gigi on the list. I thought it was good. I has a few Oscars. But I know that awards don’t always mean something.

    • Bluej June 24, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

      Yeah I thought Gigi would be a good musical with some sillyness but also substance and its just didnt have anything that I look for in a musical…and I even watched it for over an hour …but I just couldnt sit through the rest of the movie….but you should watch and tell me what you think! especially since you review a lot of old movies I would love to hear your opinion!

  3. Ronan June 24, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    Gigi? Really? That’s a surprise. The others make sense (though I haven’t seen them) but Gigi? I thought that was supposed to be a classic. Haven’t seen it though. I’ve only ever walked out of one movie and that was Charlie Wilson’s War. I also left early from the latest Indiana Jones movie but I had a train to catch so I missed the very end. Sob. By the way, don’t forget, the Morality bites blogothon begins on Wed 29th. Would love to get your input. You can find more info here: http://filmplicity.com/2011/05/morality-bites-blogothon-june-29th-2011/ Thanks BlueJ :-)

    • Bluej June 24, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

      Yeah I heard Gigi was supposed to be a classic and thats why i rented it…but I dunno it was just to silly for me and the plot had no real substance so i wasnt impressed. I’ll try and participate in the morality bites!

  4. Ipodman June 23, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    You gave up in Red Riding Hood?? o.O That’s one of my fav movies of the year so far… lol… The atmosphere of the film is very good and it’s much better than Twilight. Amanda Seyfried is a good actress! :D

    • Bluej June 24, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

      we will have to agree to disagree :) becasue Red riding hood is soo NOT better than twilight…if anything their on the same level…but even that I find hard to believe.

  5. Custard June 23, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    I have Red Riding Hood at home, and I doing well in not watching it yet!!

    My wife has said she will watch it with the girlies when they come over for a film night. This suits me now end as I will not have to see it!!!

    I had to turn off ‘Year One’ Shocking bad in my opinion, I just can’t find eating poo funny…..

    • Bluej June 24, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

      yea avoid red riding hood if you can…its really a waste of 2 hours.

  6. scarletsp1der June 23, 2011 at 6:05 am #

    haha! I love this post and laughed as I read it.

    It’s too bad for Vanishing on 7th Street. I JUST put it on my instant queue for netflix and was going to watch it. I may steer clear of it now entirely! And come on, you didn’t want to finish Red Riding Hood! :D Not even to confirm how incredibly predictable it was?! hahaha

    Fun stuff!

    • Bluej June 24, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

      sorry for ruining 7th street for you….but it really is a bad movie its very similar to shaymalan’s “The happening”…which also had a really dumb premise in my opinion.

      • rtm June 24, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

        If it’s similar to The Happening, that’s definitely a very good reason to skip it!!

  7. 2blu2btru June 22, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Unfortunately, I almost never turn off a movie, no matter how bad. The one movie I can recall that I never made it through was Johnny Depps Sweeny Todd. I just could NOT get through it. The singing was horrible and the movie looked so dark and lifeless…I just gave up. It felt GOOD, too.

    • Bluej June 23, 2011 at 5:13 am #

      Yeah I love Depp but I knew i wouldnt enjoy Sweeny Todd so I never watched it….I also walked out of Depp’s “from hell” not becasue its was necessarily bad…but i just couldnt take the gore and nudity.

  8. Nostra June 22, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    The only movies I can remember turning off fairly recently was P.S. I Love You as it had such a messed up premise which resulted in not really able to laugh about its supposedly funny situations.

    The other one is not a movie which was bad, but which just gave me the creeps (I’m not a horror fan, so wasn’t actually looking forward to seeing it was Drag Me to Hell.

    I must admit that I usually finish bad ones. Worst I saw this year was with Danny Trejo in a minor role. Think it was called The Bill Collector.

    • Bluej June 23, 2011 at 5:10 am #

      yeah im not a fan of horror movies either…yeah i think alot of people can watch a bad movie all the way through…i unfortunately cannot.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Checking Out the “Happy-Haps!” « Scarletsp1der's Blog - June 24, 2011

    [...] to the opinion of the author. You might be saved an hour or two by reading what to avoid. Click HERE to receive your warning [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

