Movie Review: The Dilemma

25 Jun

Starring: Vince Vaughn, Kevin James, Jennifer Connelly, Winona Ryder, Queen Latifah, Channing Tatum

Year: 2011

Trailer

As I started to watch this movie my expectations couldn’t have been any lower, I’m usually not a fan of the typical Hollywood comedies mainly because I don’t find slapstick humor or teenage boy humor funny, but I was pleasantly surprised by The Dilemma. The movie stars Vince Vaughn and Kevin James, and I was pretty apprehensive about the movie because their persona’s in other films really annoy me…but frankly I was bored and figured I would give the movie a chance. I have started this new thing where I give movies between 20-30 minutes to capture my interest if I’m still bored 30 minutes into a movie then, into the garbage they go (obviously not literally).

watching The Dilemma, after 30 minutes I realized that while this movie is by no means great or fantastically hilarious, it definitely has its winning moments. The plot of the movie is simple; Should you tell your best friend if you catch his/her spouse cheating on them? (should you?). While the movie is pretty straightforward the move is not bland and I think that’s because of the acting, Vaughn and James were great together and didnt over do their performances. Jennifer Connelly and Winona Ryder who play the wife and the girlfriend also add some extra depth to the movie and play their parts excellently, there are also some brief scenes with Queen Latifah which added an additional humorous touch.

 

 

I think the funniest scenes to me were when …(spoiler) Vaughn got into a fight with the guy who was sleeping with his best friend’s wife, the guy (Channing Tatum, who I definitely have my questions about as an actor) started crying and freaking out and it was super funny. One of the other scenes I enjoyed was the scene where Vaughn tries to tell James that his wife his cheating on him and he says “can I talk to you about something personal?” and James freaks out and says something like ” really!!!!??? you think I have time to talk to you about personal stuff right now?!!!??” and then When James later apologizes he says ” ok you have 9 minutes of my undivided attention…*pause*  ok you still have 8 minutes tell me what you wanted to say”  hahaha. I think the most interesting character was the cheating wife ( Winona Ryder) her character is at first portrayed as only sightly annoying then the movie morphs her into the adulterous wife. Then the movie tries to get you to feel sorry for her by showing her side of the marriage and what led her to have an affair, but then the movie completely destroys any sympathy you feel for her by turning her into a super manipulative/borderline evil wife.

Another positive of the movie is that they give Vince Vaughn a real backstory and because of this, you really see his character go through significant personal development during the movie. which I think is the reason why I enjoyed this movie because I hate comedies that have no story and are just about getting laughs. This movie has a plot, a moral compass and provides humor all at once and that’s why its enjoyable. Cinematically, I dont think this movie stands out in other areas but the one area it does well ( not great but well) is plot and acting casting was also done pretty, well I think all the actors really brought their characters alive….and made you either love them, pity them, hate them, or cheer them on and I think that’s what good performances are supposed to be about.

Bluej Rating: B

8 Responses to “Movie Review: The Dilemma”

  1. Kirstin Stitz February 25, 2013 at 4:12 pm #

    Vincent Anthony Vaughn was born on March 28, 1970, in Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA and raised in Lake Forest, Illinois, USA. His parents were Vernon Vaughn, a salesman, and Sharon Vaughn, a real-estate agent and stockbroker. They later divorced in 1991. He also has two older sisters named Victoria Vaughn and Valeri Vaughn.`

    Newest write-up on our personal blog site
    <'http://www.caramoantourpackage.com/

  2. Trinity Bedoka November 27, 2012 at 4:47 am #

    Vince vaughn is really a great actor. i really like him. ”

    <a href="Most recent content article on our very own webpage
    http://www.prettygoddess.com/index.php?board=2.0

  3. scarletsp1der July 8, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    wow! a “B” huh?! I may have to give this a shot then! it looked like one that I wouldn’t worry about seeing, but I may give it a shot. I generally like Vince Vaughn, but it’s Kevin James I don’t care for too much. His new one Zookeeper that released today looks all but good.

    Nice review!

    • Bluej July 10, 2011 at 3:32 am #

      totally agree about kevin james and especially about zookeeper ….i will NOT be seeing that movie but probably that movie is for the kiddies.

      ps: It was actually my 28th birthday …sorry that I didnt make that clear in my post ( or am I? ;)) .

  4. Custard June 27, 2011 at 8:05 am #

    I Have this to watch in my pile, but it keeps being put back because of the cast, Vince Vaughn and Kevin James just simply do not do it for me!! AT ALL!!

    But from your review maybe I might give it a go, we can’t be watching big horrors or dramas all the time can we?

    • Bluej June 28, 2011 at 1:47 am #

      yeah ditto…I think the actors are a big turn off for alot of people but i found that in this movie they were definitely tolerable if not enjoyable…although Vaughn’s behavior did make me cringe in some parts…but I think overall the movie and the actors worked.

  5. Nostra June 25, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    It’s not a movie which was on the list and after watching the trailer I’m still not sure whether or not I want to watch this. I usually don’t respond well if such a messed up situation is the thing on which the comedy is based. Does it work in this one?

    • Bluej June 28, 2011 at 1:46 am #

      I totally know what you mean about movies with messed up situations….I hate those kind of movies and usually never watch them…But i think in this particular case the movie deals with the topic very well and I think thats why i could enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

